Adding collaborators to work on my account

166 views April 3, 2015 November 20, 2018 Hover Lead 7

Hover Lead enable you to work with other team members, the collaborators feature enables our users to add team members as collaborators with different permissions, so they can work together on the same account.

Before we jump into setting up a collaboration with other team members it is important to understand how this feature works:

  1. In order to be a collaborator, you have to be an active user on Hover Lead
  2. Your collaborators are other users that have certain permissions to work on your behalf inside your account
  3. The same way you can ask others to collaborate with you, other users can ask you to be their collaborator
  4. Collaborator cannot change any of your personal settings or account settings
  5. Collaborators cannot view or manage your account’s plans or payment

Note – The collaborators feature is available in some of the plans, if you do not have this feature available in your current plan, you will have to upgrade your plan in order to use it.

Collaborators permissions and filters

You can set different permissions to your collaborators based on their expected role in the team. In addition, you can also filter the access of each collaborator to certain forms or tags.

Available permissions are as follows:

  • Can Manage Tags” – the collaborator can view and manage your tags
  • Can Create Forms” – the collaborator can create new forms in your account
  • Can Edit Forms” – the collaborator can change the settings of the existing forms
  • Can Delete Forms” – the collaborator can delete your forms
  • Can View Leads” – the collaborator has the permission to view your leads
  • Can Delete Leads” – the collaborator has the permission to delete your leads

In addition to setting the permissions, you can also apply filters based on specific forms or tags, so the team member will collaborate only on those items you permitted. For instance, a permission of “Can View Leads” with a filter of “Contact Us Form” applied to it, will ensure that the collaborator will view only the leads of the “Contact Us Form”. A second example is when the permission of “Can Edit Forms” with a filter of a tag named “Sales Related” applied to it, will ensure that the collaborator will have access to edit any form that is tagged with the “Sales Related” tag.

Note – You can apply tags on forms also after inviting collaborators to work on your account, this gives you a dynamic control on what your collaborators can access and mange.

To invite collaborators to work on your account, please follow these steps:

Required:

  1. Click on your username displayed at the top of the sidebar
  2. On the floating menu, click on “My Account
  3. In your user account page click on the “Collaborator” tab
  4. Click on the “Invite Collaborator” button
  5. Under “Invite Collaborator” section, enter the email address of the person you want to invite
  6. Under the “Permissions” section, check the permissions that you want to enable

Optional (If you want to apply filters):

  1. Under “Filters” section, check the “Apply Filters” checkbox
  2. Type the form’s name you want it to be available to the collaborator
  3. Type the tags of the forms you want them to be available to the collaborator
    Note – If you choose to apply filters by marking the checkbox without setting any form or tag to it, then the collaborator you are inviting will not be able to see or manage anything when collaborating on your account.
  4. Click “Send Invitation

Note – After inviting a collaborator, an email contains a list of permissions will be sent to inform the user.

Manage collaborators you invited

After inviting collaborators, you can manage their set of permissions, filters or remove them from collaborating.

To edit your collaborators permissions or filters, follow these steps:

  1. Click on your username displayed at the top of the sidebar
  2. On the floating menu, click on “My Account
  3. In your user’s account page, click on the “Collaborator” tab
  4. Under “Manage Collaborator” section, choose the person that you want and click on the “Permissions” button
  5. Under the “Permissions” section, change the permissions that you want

Optional (If you want to apply filters):

  1. Under “Filters” section, check or uncheck the “Apply Filters” checkbox
  2. Add or delete the forms name you want them to be available to the collaborator
  3. Add or delete the tags of the forms that you want them to be available to the collaborator
  4. Finally, click on “Save Permission” button

To delete a collaborator from working on your account, follow these steps:

  1. Click on your username displayed at the top of the sidebar
  2. On the floating menu, click on “My Account
  3. In your user account page, click on the “Collaborator” tab
  4. Under “Manage Collaborator” section, choose the person that you want and click on the “Delete Collaborator” button

You as a collaborator

When other users invite you to be a collaborator in their accounts, you can switch working on your account to any of the other users’ account. For each user that you collaborate with, you can have a different set of permissions.

To work as a collaborator on other user’s account, follow these steps:

  1. Login to your account
  2. Click on your username displayed at the top of the sidebar
  3. On the floating menu, under “My Account”, click on the sender username

Note – a message will appear to indicate that you are working on another user’s account, to go back to work on your own account, click on the “X” button at the side bar.

Was this helpful?